Living Here

Just like living anywhere, adjusting to life in Newfoundland and Labrador is about settling into the rhythm of everyday life. Learning the language and taking care of you and your family's education, healthcare, accommodations, transportation, banking and other day-to-day necessities.

A big part of settling into a new place is about meeting people. In this section you will also find information to help you integrate into the community and meet new people through volunteering activities, sports and recreation, multicultural events & activities and through religious organizations and church groups.

Here are some good resources to get you started.

Basic Things to Know

Sales Tax

The Harmonized Sales Tax (HST) of 13% applies to most goods and services. When purchasing items the price shown on the product does not include tax. The 13% will be added to the price upon point of sale.

Time Zone

The 12-hour clock is used in Canada. The letters a.m. (Latin = Before Noon, ante meridiem) indicate the morning hours from midnight to noon. The afternoon and evening hours are indicated by p.m. (Latin = After Noon, post meridiem).

Deer Lake is located in the Newfoundland Standard Time zone, which is half an hour later then the Atlantic Standard Time. Deer Lake also participates in daylight savings time, which means that on the second Sunday of March of every year the clock goes ahead one hour until the first Sunday in November when the clock goes back one hour.

The following list is a sample of what time it is elsewhere when it is 9:30 a.m. Newfoundland Time.

In Canada:

  • 9:00 a.m. Atlantic (Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, P.E.I. and Western Labrador)
  • 8:00 a.m. Eastern (Quebec and Ontario)
  • 7:00 a.m. Central (Manitoba and Saskatchewan)
  • 6:00 a.m. Mountain (Alberta) 5:00 a.m. Pacific (British Columbia)

International:

  • 6:00 a.m. Belmopan, Belize
  • 7:00 a.m. Cancun, Mexico
  • 8:00 a.m. Acre, Brazil
  • 2:00 p.m. Johannesburg, Africa
  • 8:00 p.m. Beijing, China
  • 9:00 p.m. Tokyo, Japan
  • 10:00 p.m. Sydney, Australia

Metric System

Canada converted to the metric system in 1970. However, people in Canada use both the metric system and imperial measurement. All measurements on packaging are now metric. The weather temperature is given in centigrade scale (Celsius). Also, tools and distances are in the metric system.

Calculations:

  • 1 degree celsius = 1.8 degrees farenheit
  • 1 kilometer = 0.62 miles
  • 2.2 kilograms = 1 pound
  • For easy conversions: www.metric-conversions.org

Government

Canada has three levels of government: federal, provincial, and municipal. All three levels of government are elected by the citizens of Canada.

Federal Government (Government of Canada)

The federal government has responsibilities such as international policies, immigration, defense, and criminal law. Names and contact information of federal departments are available in the Blue Pages of the telephone book under ?Government of Canada. http://canada.gc.ca/

Provincial Government (Government of Newfoundland and Labrador)

Canada is divided into ten provinces and three territories. Each territory and province has its own government. The Provincial Government is responsible for such things as health, education, highways, tourism, agriculture and industry. Names and contact information of provincial government departments are in the Blue Pages of the telephone book under Government of Newfoundland and Labrador. www.gov.nl.ca/

Municipal Government Municipal governments - cities, towns, and villages - are set up by the provincial governments and provide us with such services as water supply, sewage and garbage disposal, roads, sidewalks, street lighting, building codes, parks, playgrounds, and libraries. There are roughly 282 municipal governments in the province. Municipal government contact information is in the Blue Pages of the telephone book. www.ma.gov.nl.ca/ma/